Day 2: A Fridge Full of Condiments

I pulled 70 condiments out of my fridge today.  That’s right 70.  Only 30 of them got put back in.  And even those are questionable.

Why do I hang on to this stuff?

That’s a good question.  I found a really great answer in this post by the minimalists, Joshua Millburn and Ryan Nicodemus.

The answer is fear.  We hang on to things because we’re afraid to get rid of them.  So what’s with my condiment hoarding?  What am I afraid of?

I’m afraid, feminists cover your ears, that people will find out that I’m a horrible cook and therefore a bad wife and mother.  And, I’m afraid to give up the hope of one day becoming a wonderful cook with the right combination of condiments.

Crazy, isn’t it?  But isn’t that what a lot of Moms try to do, become good at everything that is expected of them whether or not it’s something they truly want to do?

So today I got rid of 40 condiments and I got rid of an ambition that has very little meaning for me.  Which makes room for the ambitions I really care about.  And that is worth far more than the hundreds of dollars in condiments I just poured down the drain.

The rest of the 100 things today came from my bedside table.  Yes, I had 60 extraneous things next to my bed. I know I won’t miss my Sony Discman.

Maybe I’ll even sleep a little sounder tonight.

Leave a Reply

