Day 7: Sex, Lies and Recycling

700 things gone – only 9,300 to go

I’m dating myself here, but does anyone remember this scene from Sex, Lies and Videotape where Andie MacDowell (Ann) talks to her therapist about garbage?  Brilliant, isn’t it.

Well, that’s kind of what I’m like with recycling.  I know the ins and outs of my blue box; glass, metal, and plastics 1,2,4 & 5, but that’s about it.  Without the numbers I get a little twitchy.

And that’s exactly how I felt trying to decide what to do with the two empty CD cases I found today.  Toss or recycle?  After pondering for a moment, I decided on recycle, popped them into the blue bin, and forgot all about it.  I wish.  Nope, much like Andie (Ann), I just couldn’t get them out of my head.

I imagined a recycling worker somewhere plucking my CD cases from the line thinking – what kind of moron puts CD cases in the blue box?

So I typed my query into google.  Can you recycle CD cases?  Now I wonder what took me so long.  There are entire websites devoted to the topic.

I owe a big thanks to Ashley Webster for cataloguing the recycling resources in Vancouver, BC.  Turns out there is a place for my CD cases to retire.  They also accept: computers, computer accessories, game consoles, cell phones, phone cords, DVD cases etc. etc. Looks like I need to set up a free geek box in my garage.  I’m sure it will be full to overflowing by the end of 100 days.

One thought on “Day 7: Sex, Lies and Recycling

Leave a Reply

