Day 8: Who’s Getting In the Way of Your Decluttering

800 things gone, only 9,200 to go

It’s 4pm and I haven’t collected my 100 things yet today.  And judging by the way I’m feeling, it’s going to be a cheat day. Which means I’ll find the easiest way possible to collect and purge my quota.

And since I’m procrastinating, I thought it would be a good day to catch you up on the Squirrel.  Here’s a Squirrel cache I found yesterday while cleaning off the kitchen desk:

I think it’s a good idea to keep a bowl on the desk for spare change.  Squirrel likes to use these bowls for just about anything. Here’s a closeup of the contents:

I spy candy, a hockey player, a star fish, change …

Now, this isn’t such a big deal, is it?  Candy, silly bandz, labels and bike chain go in the garbage. Toys get set aside for the kids.  I’m pretty much done.

Then I open the cupboard below:

I should’ve known a good Squirrel never hides all his goodies in one spot.  You never know when you might need a maple leaf pen cap or a bobby pin.

I try to be philosophical about it.  Isn’t it wonderful we approach things so distinctively?  Squirrel can’t stand  it when I leave things out on the counter almost as much as I loathe finding the junk he tucks away.

But really, does this make any sense to you?

I found this toque, spoon, light stick, and chinese finger trap under a pile of papers on the desk.

Like most things in our marriage that we fight about, we pretty much want the same thing, but go about it in completely different ways.   Squirrel doesn’t want to see the clutter – so he tucks it away.  I don’t want to see the clutter ever again so I drive it away.

I think this project will be good for both of us.

3 thoughts on “Day 8: Who’s Getting In the Way of Your Decluttering

  1. I’ve just discovered your blog, it’s great! It’s really interest to read about your experiences decluttering.

    And this “Like most things in our marriage that we fight about, we pretty much want the same thing, but go about it in completely different ways” is a fantastic quote about marriage. I can so relate!

  2. Pingback: day 2: derailed by the cronopio dentiacutus | Stash for Good

Leave a Reply

