Day 9: Dive In – Your Clutter Is Waiting For You

900 things gone, only 9,100 to go

In case you’re wondering, my cheat day yesterday consisted of removing all the magazines and catalogs from the house with dates prior to 2010.  It was easy, my husband (aka Squirrel) had 40 of them underneath his bedside table.  I topped up the magazine total with 10 books from my bookshelf.

I used to hoard books – afraid that I might want to revisit the pages that once gave me so much pleasure.  But I’ve realized that I rarely revisit a book unless it’s a reference book or a classic.  There are just too many great books to read to spend much time looking back.

Plus, I’ve discovered this handy little device called an I-Pad.  Squirrel picked one up this year.  I read my first book Me Talk Pretty One Day by David Sedaris on the I-Pad while driving up to Whistler this winter.  I don’t recommend this, by the way – David Sedaris is best enjoyed on solid ground with an empty bladder.

I digress.  My point is, even a book lover like me can adapt.  The minimalists have some great tips on this if you want to go the distance and get rid of everything (not just books) that can be stored on a computer.  I may revisit this advice at the end of 100 days but, for now, I’m pretty happy editing my book collection a few volumes at a time.

Which brings me to the observation that there are two kinds of people in the world: those that consider a cold pool an opportunity to cannonball; and those that start with a toe and 10 minutes later take a their first tentative stroke.

If you’re the former, this may not be the blog for you.  No worries – there are so many incredible minimalist blogs out there to inspire you.

But if you’re a toe tester, like me, you may find this is exactly where you belong.

No matter.  In the end, we’ll all claim the water is just fine – once you get in.

What I tossed today:  40 things from the kids art drawer, 5  baking pans – some rusted, 1 phone book (who uses phone books these days!), 13 fisher price toys (listed on criagslist), 1 portable air conditioner (sold), 9 dried out markers, 29 pieces of old candy

Leave a Reply

