Day 10: A Long Way To Go To Clutter Free

1,000 things gone, 9,000 to go

I fluctuate (sometimes hourly) between thinking 100 days is not long enough to make a dent in the clutter that’s taking over my life; and thinking 100 days is way too long and, in the end,  I’ll be pulling weeds and rummaging through the neighbours recycling bins to make my daily quota.

Then I do something like open my spice cupboard and I realize I’ve got a long way to go:

It’s clear the Squirrel isn’t the ony one with a problem here.

In my defence, at least everything in these bins has to do with cooking.

Now, anyone who knows me knows how much cooking I actually do as opposed to the cooking I fantasize about.

So I got honest with myself about the likelihood of ever using tapioca starch, onion granules, or freeze dried dill ever again. And I was able to pare down the inventory to this one bin:

I also decided I can live without the salt and vinegar popcorn topping (not a good idea in the first place) and this fossilized maple butter.

Pretty sure this is not what it’s supposed to look like.

And since I’ve subjected you to this, I’d like to thank you for logging on to witness my paring down.  And if you’re paring down I’d love to hear how you’re doing it.  Leave a comment below or send me an email.

What I tossed today: 20 miscellaneous spices, 4 bowls, 3 plates, 1 salt, and 1 pepper shaker, 26 pcs. plastic cutlery, 1 silicone spatula (that never flipped anything well), 3 books, 1 vase, 40 pcs. old lego

4 thoughts on “Day 10: A Long Way To Go To Clutter Free

  1. Wow, 1000 things gone already – talk about inspirational! I discovered your blog through the WordPress tag surfer. I’m in Vancouver and we’re decluttering this year too, but not as ambitiously – aiming for 4000 this year, already over 3000 – yay!

    Continued luck to you and keep up the good work!

  2. Christine, this is really great stuff! I had a really good laugh. Thanks for keeping it real. I’ve heard of different versions of this that I have always been very excited about but never done anything about, You’ve inspired me to give it a try. You should see my junk drawer….. Keep up the good work.

    • Thanks Sonia. I’ve been frequenting minimalist blogs for the past year hoping some of it will rub off on me but I just couldn’t understand how to make it work for my lifestyle. I’m hoping this will be a good start.

Leave a Reply

