Clutter and Depression

I’m writing a serious post today because I think it’s really important to put it out there that – sometimes there are way more important things than decluttering.

We moved 4 1/2 years ago when I was pregnant with my second son.  It has taken me a long time to get back to normal again physically and emotionally.

I experienced depression with both my pregnancies but more seriously after my second son was born.  I would/could not have taken on anything extra even as recently as a year ago.

So if you’re wandering around, as I was, thinking:  “Look at all the normal people doing normal things.”

Take care of yourself before you take care of the house.

I know people have strong opinions on this, but the things that have worked for me individually or in combination are: medication, information (I found Dr. Amen’s Change Your Brain, Change Your Life helpful), talk therapy and yoga.

And, if you’re not getting any sleep, put down that recycling box, put on Baby Einstein, and get yourself back to bed.

Your clutter will wait.  Mine waited 4 years.

6 thoughts on “Clutter and Depression

  1. Thanks for writing this, you make a very important point.

    In addition, I find that when I’m struggling emotionally, I’m not in the right mindframe to make good decisions about what to keep and what to toss. I’ve learned from some bad decluttering experiences that I really need to be emotionally ready to declutter before I do.

  2. Thank you. I am just coming thru a very bad 10 year patch. I have a house I lived in for 20 plus years I received lock stock and barrel thru my divorce… so the “clutter” is actually part of my divorce settlement. Well meaning friends just want me to throw it all away… which I could easily… but in a few years when the alimony runs out… I’ll be kicking myself.

    I should have cleared out this house 4-5 years ago… but foolishly I had moved across the state with my fiance and young son, he’s now 18. My fiance had a stroke in 2006 which caused a tremendous personality change and damaged all of his moral decision making. My fiance died in June of 2011…he left me living in a house which is in foreclosure and his estate is bankrupt. I hope to buy the property at a sheriffs sale which I have been waiting a year to have happen.

    The stress has been simply excruciating at times. You mentioned yoga… I studied yoga back in the day… my knees are giving me pain so I purchased a set of chair yoga DVD’s which are still in their packaging. Slowly things are moving along… but definitely at my pace which is completely out of step with the rest of the world.

    I am now in the wacky situation where I am packing up my belongings to take to a house which isn’t as of yet mine. Although, I am the executor of the estate. I am sooooooooooooo sick I being coined a hoarder…which is hurtful and not the case…. life simply ran away from me and I put my attention into raising my son. Everyone wants to catagorize people, put them into a little square neat box.

    Your blog is so sympathetic to someone like me and I thank you for writing it. —Dawn

    • Hi Dawn,
      I’m sorry it has taken me so long to respond. We just moved and it was all-consuming.
      I’m not usually a crier, but your post reminded me of my own “bad patch” and how truly excruciating (perfect description) it was. I’m so glad you commented. Every time I hear a story like yours I’m reminded how brave women are. I applaud you for putting your son first and keeping your priorities straight in light of your critics.
      Hang in there and keep taking small steps toward your vision of a happy life. As a fellow turtle (slow paced), I am really rooting for you.
      Christine

  3. This is all so true. I have often thought of my pace, as slow as a turtle. But the years, they have sped up. Time to get some things rolling. I set up a 21 day plan. Similar to the contract you made with yourself to de-clutter. I will continue to read of your solid words. Nameste’
    Nancy Ruth

    • Hi Nancy Ruth,
      I’ve been absent from the blog for a long time – overwhelmed again! But, I am always so happy to hear that others are picking up where I left off. It inspires me to get back into the mindset of living with less. Best of luck with your decluttering whatever pace and form it takes for you. Thanks for visiting and commenting.
      Christine

Leave a Reply

