Day 26: How To Keep Your Stuff Out Of The Landfill

2,600 things gone, only 8,400 to go

Where is it all coming from?

Here’s 100 things on their way to the book drop off, the clothing drop off, the thrift store and the recycling depot.

Here’s my one bag of garbage.

I love it when I don’t have to feel guilty about clogging up the landfill.

What I tossed today: 45 items of clothing from my kids drawers, 20 books, 1 hair dryer, 2 of the same men’s toiletry bags (sorry Squirrel!), and several containers of unexpired toiletries (all donated).  Expired toiletries in non-recyclable containers, stained and torn clothing, used velcro rollers (all thrown out).

If anyone knows a better way to dispose of clothing that is not fit for donation, please let me know!

4 thoughts on “Day 26: How To Keep Your Stuff Out Of The Landfill

  1. We’ve had luck donating clothing that isn’t in good enough condition for donation to thrift stores to a Big Brothers clothing drive that was organized through my son’s school. Big Brothers determines from the donations what is good enough to sell in their stores and what they sell/use/give away as materials to be used as rags. Another bonus is that Big Brothers will pick up directly from your house!

    Also, I am feeling the same way about not knowing where all the stuff is coming from – passed the 3,500 mark this past week and there’s still things to put in bags and part with! Keep up the good work!

    • Thanks so much for the tip about Big Brothers. That’s fantastic that they determine what’s good enough to sell and then take care of the rest. I have a hard time deciding whether something is OK to drop off at the thrift shop or not if it only has a small stain or tear.
      I’ll add Big Brothers to the Resources page.
      3,500 things is phenomenal! Isn’t it unbelievable that anyone has that much unused stuff. I just keep going and going…

  2. I just found your blog and since I’m decluttering my life as well I’m thrilled over the inspiration you have given me! I leave a quick note before continuing reading…

    Regarding recycling clothes not fit for second hand, H&M has recently started a campaign called garment collecting. You leave a bag filled with clothes and/or other fabrics in any of there stores and recieve a voucher on your next purchase for the trouble. “The clothes are then graded and hand-sorted. Zero waste is the goal. Items that are too worn and torn to be reused will be recycled and turned into raw materials and new products
    Rewear – Clothing that can be worn again is marketed worldwide as second-hand good.
    Reuse -Textiles that are no longer suitable to wear are converted into other products, such as cleaning cloths
    Recycle -Textiles that can’t be reused get a new chance as textile fibres, or are used to manufacture products such as damping and insulating materials for the auto industry.
    Energy -When rewear, reuse and recycle are not options, textiles are used to produce energy”

    http://Www.about.hm.com

    • Hi Mandy,
      Thank-you so much for commenting, and for the tip about H & M. It looks like a pretty comprehensive program too – I am especially impressed that every store in Canada is participating! Love it, I’ll be spreading the word. Good luck with your decluttering. : )

Leave a Reply

