Day 36: Rewriting History One Photograph At A Time

3,600 things gone, 6,400 things to go

Remember that song Everybody’s Free (to wear sunscreen) by Baz Luhrman?  The lyrics were taken from a famous essay — written in 1997 by Mary Schmich.

Enjoy the power and beauty of your youth. Never mind. You will not understand the power and beauty of your youth until they have faded. But trust me, in 20 years you’ll look back at photos of yourself and recall in a way you can’t grasp now how much possibility lay before you and how fabulous you really looked.

You are NOT as fat as you imagine.

What has this got to do with decluttering?

I found these shots of Squirrel and me today while I was getting rid of some photos.

These photos were taken 13 years ago in Cuba. We had no idea we were fabulous.

In 13 more years we will look back on photos of us now and think how fabulous we were.

Don’t get me wrong, we still think we’re fabulous in a – we must be pretty great to have survived marriage and children and a business and we’re still holding it together – kind of way.

But not in a standing by yourself in front of the horizon kind of way. That’s an entirely different realm of fabulousness.

In the field of quantum physics (which I don’t pretend to understand), there is a theory that states that all possible histories and futures are real—each representing an actual “world” (or “universe”).

If you’ll allow me to make a jump – that means I’m actually fabulous in Cuba right now at the same time as I’m writing this blog post on the couch at home with a sore back, dark circles under my eyes and 10 extra pounds.

Of course, I’m also at my high school graduation with really bad hair, studying for exams, dating that awful guy and nine months pregnant twice. But since I got rid of those photos, I’m choosing to embrace a little different version of history.

Hola!

When and where were you fabulous?

What I got rid of today: 100+ photographs: some doubles, some pics that evoked a resounding No! to the decluttering question: Does owning it create good feelings or not?, the rest scanned for posterity.

Leave a Reply

