Day 89: Against My Better Judgement – Clutter I’m Keeping

8,900 things gone, only 1,100 things to go

Remind me how I chose 100 days again? Oh yeah, I chose it at random. 

On Day 1, I’ll be honest, things were catapulting themselves into the bin. It didn’t seem like a stretch to continue the exercise for 100 days.

On Day 89, I’m realizing that the final days will be a true test of my flexibility.

From now on the question will have to be: What can I live without?

It always amazes me that I can live without spare sheets, excess clothes and an overstocked pantry, but I can’t bring myself to get rid of small pink things.

Against my better judgement, I’m holding onto these:

And these:

Can you guess which one belongs to Squirrel and which one belongs to me?

Oh, and these:

These spears from the Canary Islands set off all my alarm bells. Who was being hunted?

Whose hair is this?

And yet, I’m keeping them.

You guessed right if you guessed that the spears and pickle man belong to Squirrel and that the stuffed mouse, bunny car, piglet pencil topper and worry doll belong to me.

And here’s where I depart from the golden rule of decluttering: If it’s not beautiful or useful, get rid of it!

Mousey – beautiful? Cute maybe.  Ancient weapons – useful? Not unless they accidentally impale super pickle man.

So why all the crazy? Squirrel gave up golf clubs without much fuss and I donated a perfume collection that once meant a lot to me.

Squirrel says we just form attachments to things for no real reason but I have a different theory. There’s a perfectly good reason behind each of these seemingly random things and they’re reasons we’re comfortable keeping – on a shelf in the garage.

As long as we keep the lid on, we should be alright.

Are you hanging onto anything that isn’t beautiful or useful? I love pictures, you can send them to me at: christine@100things100days.com

What I tossed today: Lego, ski clothing, kid’s clothing, tv box and remote, folders, paper towel holder, plastic hockey sticks, The Club (remember The Club – why did we all stop using it?)

6 thoughts on “Day 89: Against My Better Judgement – Clutter I’m Keeping

  1. I was going through boxes in the basement and I came across an old toy that belonged to my childhood dog. I sat there and held it and cried and cried. So I designated a special drawer for sentimental stuff like that because there’s no way that chewed up plastic elephant is going in the trash!

    • Awww… I totally get it. It’s hard to come face to face with your child self. It’s like the feelings we have about toys or a childhood pet don’t make sense in the context of a complicated adult life. I’m keeping the piglet pencil topper until I figure it out!

  2. Hi, I am watching with growing anticipation as to how you are going to find the last 1000 things. It’s quite exciting really – I check everyday to see if there’s an update. What are you going to do when you’ve reached your goal? What am I going to do when you’ve reached your goal?

    I really struggled with ‘sentimental clutter’ until I found this clip on youtube. It really put a different perspective on the sentimental stuff and made me laugh.

    I also have a plan B for the stuff I still struggle to get rid of despite it being ugly / useless sentimental trash. I leave it. Usually in the most inconvenient place I can find. Then after constantly tripping over it / having to pick it up to clean around it for several weeks I get so infuriated with it I’m usually glad to see the back of it! Gone are the sentimental pangs of my childhood, I’m usually relieved to be rid of it!

    I’m sure my ‘pack a rat’ hubby has installed cctv cameras to monitor what I’m de-cluttering though. A few weeks ago I disposed of a photo album belonging to him (not the pictures – I am putting all the pictures in a box and once I have gathered them all together from the 27 different places where they are stored around the house, I’ll go through them, keeping only the good ones.)
    Now the photo album has been in the loft for 13 years. It has not been looked at once, it has not been mentioned by hubby once. And yet 2 DAYS AFTER I disposed of the dusty, yellowing, tatty, falling to pieces album, he stood and looked at the box where I’m keeping the photos (he has no idea what’s in the box I hasten to add) and asked where the photo album was. I have to admit to saying ‘I have no idea , probably up in the loft’. He was happy with this explanation and didn’t seek to find it. Phew! I’m living dangerously and will keep de-cluttering his (obvious)junk until I’m rumbled!

    Good luck with the final few days.

    • “I also have a plan B for the stuff I still struggle to get rid of despite it being ugly / useless sentimental trash. I leave it. Usually in the most inconvenient place I can find. Then after constantly tripping over it / having to pick it up to clean around it for several weeks I get so infuriated with it I’m usually glad to see the back of it!”

      I’m putting this tactic into use immediately! It sounds like your husband has a sixth sense. Dangerous, but so worth it. I loved, loved, loved the clip especially what the daughter tells her mother about paying money to pack the stuff up to bury in the garage so she can throw it out when she dies. So true. Thanks so much for keeping me company. It sounds as though we started in the exact same place. Good luck to you too!

  3. I had a green Piglet as a child. He can ride on your spoon, or perch on the side of your cereal bowl or your juice glass. A true multitasker. Aren’t declutterers encouraged to favor things that can be used in multiple ways?

Leave a Reply

