Day 97: Decluttering – Would I Do It The Same Way Twice?

Hang on, you’re thinking, didn’t she already do Day 97. Well, you’re right. I’m stuck on Day 97. I’ve had a sinus headache since Saturday that’s kept me from doing much of anything except keeping my head very very still while eating carbs off my children’s plates and hoping for a face transplant. Sure there are more productive things I could do like taking medicine or drinking orange juice but that would require more tilt of the head than I care to do.

And since I’ve had lots of time to think and no energy to declutter, I propped my laptop up at eye level and decided to blog instead. Lately, I’ve been questioning the 100 things 100 days format. Would I do it the same way again?

I was beginning to think I should have imposed a looser time frame as in 100 things, 100 (or so) days. The deadline is making me twitchy. I’ve started running all sorts of Day 100 movies on the film projector in my head.

In one, I’m releasing 100 balloons to the ceiling surrounded by my loving husband, adoring children and minimalist art. For some reason the scene alway takes place in front of this couch:

In another, I find myself alone in an empty room staring forlornly at the scuff marks on the sofa we actually own and missing the bobble heads. But worse by far is the scene where I open the door and 10,000 things come pouring back in and one month later I’m reading my own blog for tips.

The truth is that none of these scenarios is likely. I love having 9,700 fewer things, but it will never be finished and there will always be scuff marks on something. I hope that I have gained the insight to live a little more purposefully, and I’m looking forward to blogging about that, and about my ongoing relationship with decluttering.

But first, Sudafed. Then Day 98, 99 and 100!

21 thoughts on “Day 97: Decluttering – Would I Do It The Same Way Twice?

  1. Well, you know… the balloons would just be 100 more things that you’d have to get rid of. 🙂

    I’m really impressed with your whole project. Don’t think I could have stuck with it the way you did.

    Congrats, and feel better! Don’t know if you’ve ever tried it, but I’m a big believer in the saline sinus rinse… it works wonders for me.

    • True, I’d have to have a Day 101 to get rid of the balloons. I always think of saline rinse too late. I should probably use it preventatively given the state of my sinuses and my almost yearly infections. So so so glad I didn’t declutter the saline rinse. I was tempted a few months back during a brief phase of sinus health!

  2. Have you ever seen the movie “Les Yeux Sans Visage”? It’s about face transplants! This is not a recommendation, mind you, just a thought.

    My question it, will you keep blogging after the 100 Days end? Your writing’s so fun, I’m selfishly hoping you’ll keep finding things to write about…

  3. Firstly, I’m not sure if you have this where you are at, but Advil Cold & Sinus= the BEST medicine for sinus stuff….it’s the one you have to get behind the pharmacy (assuming in Canada they put those sorts of meds in the pharmacy to make you feel like a meth head every time you need some).

    Secondly, I had the same thought as EcoCatLady–the balloons would just be another thing to rid yourself of haha! But that couch? I LOVE it! Looking at the color and fabric, it may really lend itself to scuff marks…and with boys-don’t even get me started!

    Keep your head up…errr..comfortable. Healing thoughts sent your way!

    • Thanks for the recommendation and the heeling thoughts :). I made do today with Sudafed and borrowed a couple of Dayquil from a friend this afternoon. I will have to come up with a better plan tomorrow. I’m glad we have the same taste in couches and the good sense to know what will work with boys in the house and what won’t.

  4. I just found your blog and I have to say “Wow.” You are really making some amazing progress at decluttering. We did a major decluter and purge last year. We spread the work out over a couple of months, working mostly on the weekends. I’m not sure how much stuff we got rid of, but we staged our purge in the garage before we either donating or holding for a garage sale, and we had one side of the garage completely filled with boxes and boxes of stuff. By the time you are done with the major declutter, your entire house will feel lighter and happier.

  5. I have been reading your blog for a few weeks now and just wanted to say “Hi.” Your project has been so interesting to follow. Congrats on all your progress. Hope you feel better soon!

  6. Just had to check on you… it’s fun to see what you’re up to and get a little inspiration. Sorry to hear you’re feeling so miserable 😦 I hope you recover soon. What’s going to happen when you aren’t doing 100 days? How will I get my little fix of throwing things away?

    • I strongly suspect I’ll be switching to a maintenance program of decluttering. It’s hard to believe, but, with a family, things keep sneaking in without my knowing. I promise to keep tossing and posting but maybe at a slower pace. Thanks for wishing me well in my time of sinus agony!

  7. This is another one of your posts that gives me blog envy. 🙂

    I must warn you, decluttering can become addicting. Like now that I can no longer easily gather a bunch of items to get rid of, it’s all I want to do. Not that my home is perfectly decluttered or anything, but the easy stuff is gone and I like most of the crap that’s left. I’m thinking of volunteering my services to others, but my mom is still traumatized from when I tried to help her. You dream of minimalist couches, I dreaming of getting to go to a Hoarder’s house and throw crap out by the dumpster-load.

    C’est la vie.

  8. I don’t often comment (okay never) on blogs, but I wanted to let you know that I have loved every day of your blog as I felt that you were coming from a place I really want to be. You’re *real* and I appreciate your *realness* on your blog. You literally inspire me to pick up my declutter bags after I check in with “where you are” on that particular day. Thank you for sharing your journey–don’t sweat arbitrary numbers, and hope you feel better.

    • Thank you so much for commenting. I’ve often wondered if I’m a little too real, but being unreal kept me trapped under piles of clutter. Plus, I don’t think it serves anyone to “pretend” that I sashay through life effortlessly. It’s always been a bit of a struggle for me and I’m so glad you can relate to my journey.

  9. Hi Christine

    I really hope you are starting to feel better. I can’t believe how hard you are on yourself. You are a typical Mum, feeling guilty about EVERYTHING, even being poorly! And that is why everyone who reads your blog totally understands every emotion, every thought and every feeling you write about and they LOVE it; You are putting into words the feelings of thousands of women and making everyone feel normal.
    So on behalf of all your followers I should like to say a big THANK YOU for making us all feel normal.

    • I’m so glad that people can relate to my posts. It would be horrible if all these crazy thoughts I have are mine alone! I’m actually feeling much worse today, but Squirrel took the kids to my parents for the weekend. Everything is so much more manageable when you only have to look after yourself. I expect a speedy recovery!

Leave a Reply

