Oh, Just Keep It!

6 days to moving day, $118 raised for your charities

I’m not going to lie to you, I’ve been blocked.

(image source)

Between the power washing and the landscaping and the novel-writing, I’ve come up with some pretty convincing ways to avoid decluttering.

To the outside world, I’ve been a whirlwind of productivity – garden beds have been weeded, patio stones have been laid, rock walls have been restored to their original colour, moss has been killed, and chapters have been written and rewritten.

Give me ten extra minutes and I’m mowing the lawn, five and I’m planting a basket, two and I’m offing a stray weed with one hand and tapping out prose with the other.

I recognize this feeling. If I can’t control when and if our house will sell and when and if we’ll find a new one, I may as well blast moss off every stone on the property and write the next Harry Potter.

The trouble is that it never quite works out that way. My projects languish from the lack of focus and by the time I reach the original goal (selling the house) I need about six years of uninterrupted sleep.

Even my decluttering project seems to have taken a back seat to all the other very important things I mustย do – did I mention, I refinished two coffee tables?

That was until this morning.ย This morning – I got over myself.

I put the three bags back on my arm and instead of obsessing over whether I should or shouldn’t keep something, I (gasp!) gave myself permission to keep one or two things I couldn’t decide on.

Phew! That wasn’t so bad.

Well, the whole thing snowballed and before I knew it twenty-five items were on their way to the garbage, the recycling bin, or the thrift shop.

And the nice thing is that once freed from the perfectionism of making the right decision, I found myself more and more willing to give up stuff that just a few months ago I thought I wanted to keep. Decluttering was fun again.

I’m back, and not a moment too soon. It’s six days until I have to have this place in move ready condition, and six days until I donate some of my craigslist proceeds to one of your charities.

If you haven’t already, please let me know in the comments where you’d like to see the money go.

11 thoughts on “Oh, Just Keep It!

  1. I can only imagine how busy you’ve been…how can there be only 6 days until moving day??? Still hoping that my charity will win that $$$ (selfish, I know, but I really believe in it)…and thinking of C on his 5th birthday…agree that he should make the draw and you should video it!!! Take good care of yourself…see you soon! :o)

  2. We must have synced minds because I’ve been doing the same things (ok a lot more digging and rock moving over power washing). I think it’s great that you gave yourself permission to keep! I suck at that one. I’m really good at persuading myself otherwise (and thus our barren house). I’m excited for moving day!

    As for my charity, I’m choosing the AZ Animal Welfare League…or whatever I posted earlier. I’m sure that was a good one too ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • I noticed you’ve got quite the landscaping project going on. I think the physical work is good for thinkers like you and me. I’m really looking forward to moving day too. After that I’m going to give myself permission to write about anything I feel like on my blog. I wonder how many followers I’ll scare away. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Good for you for taking the pressure (ha!) out of decluttering – sometimes all it takes to make it fun again is for us to take some pressure off ourselves and just get started, perfection be damned. Are you really moving? Downsizing? ๐Ÿ™‚ I’ve been missing reading about your adventures this year, keep the posts coming!

    • Hi Erin, I’ve been missing writing about my adventures and reading about everyone else’s. My imaginary move (May 1) has turned into a real move (hopefully August). I’m having a panic attack about it – hence the power washing and landscaping. I’m only just starting to settle down and enjoy the fact that I may have a condo soon. Seriously, your lifestyle inspired me. We are moving to Whistler this summer and definitely downsizing although we haven’t found a place yet. Scary! I’ve been sparse on the posts because we spend every winter weekend commuting bad and forth to my parents place in Whistler because my oldest and my husband are boarding and skiing addicts! It’s exhausting and I’m ready for a change. Good luck with the draw. I am going to have my youngest draw the name and make a video of it since May 1st is his fifth birthday.

  4. Pingback: repurposedkate

  5. Pingback: Stuck? | repurposedKATE

Leave a Reply

