How To Tame A Squirrel with Your Own Two Hands

Those of you who have been reading recently know that my Squirrel has been in a funk lately what with the end of the ski season and all.

Those of you who have been reading for a while know that my Squirrel has been known to make comments like these:

“Find a new obsession…and chuck a couple of pillows from the bed over here.”

and

“Get rid of the pile of donations in (my) garage or I’m going to start putting them all back.”

And, those of you who have been reading since the beginning know that my Squirrel does things like this.

Loveable behaviour only if you’re a furry little fella.

So when my Squirrel reached his negativity quota by 9am this morning, I wondered if it might be beneficial to both of us if I came up with a sign to remind him that his comments had strayed so far into the negative I feared he might never come back.

Nothing too confrontational. Something lighthearted, if not entirely subtle.

I considered raising my hand.

No, too submissive. I didn’t want to give him the wrong idea.

Maybe a word, like sunshine or walnut. That would be uplifting.

Nah. He’d acclimatize to that too quickly and repeating the word walnut would just annoy me.

Then it hit me. The sign I was looking for was hanging right there at the ends of my arms.

Jazz Hands!

Aint no rodent too negative for these dancing digits.

“Blah, blah, blah, grump, blah, blah, blah, grump.”

One, two, three! Silent with energy…Jazz Hands!

“Blah, blah, blah, grump, blah, blah, blah, grump.”

One more time. This time with pizazzz…Jazz Hands!

Silence. Sweet, cheerful, silence.

That was just too easy.

So, this is for you Squirrel and anyone else who might be finding it hard to keep their spirits in the pink this Spring.

Happy Day! From me + some random people on flickr.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

photo source: Flickr Creative Commons search: Jazz Hands

(Pictures were selected based on energy, finger extension, proximity to the face, and expression. Extra points were allotted for group effort. Have you got a better photo? E-mail me at christine@100things100days.com. I’m cheerfully accepting photos for my arsenal.)

16 thoughts on “How To Tame A Squirrel with Your Own Two Hands

  1. Hahahahahahahahaha! LOVE it! Only you could come up with the perfect signal that would tell Squirrel to cease and desist in such a positive and non-confrontational way!!!! Hahahahahahahaha! :o) You are truly hilarious! :o)

  2. well that made me smile:D Thanks Christine. Probably something I should either tell my daughter to do when I’m too moody or I could teach Henry to do that instead of “high five”:D Come have a glass of wine with me tomorrow night and we can vent together;)

    • I didn’t high five anyone ever until I had my first son. Why does everyone want to give little boys high fives? Thank goodness for the rise in popularity of the pound. I am feeling revived by all these comments, perhaps I’ll make a full recovery by tomorrow night.

  3. Brilliant! An absolutely brilliant idea that I am going to borrow from you! Pssst get on with the book(s) 😉 for those of us who are so curious as to what happens next…………..

  4. This is pure awesome. I too resort to theatrics/comedy when The Hubs’ mood gets too funky.

    And I think what you’re missing in this post is video. Maybe I’ll geek-out on you and send you one of me doing some killer jazz hands. Just maybe 😉

Leave a Reply

