Save Money, Save Time, Stay Sane

(Source: D. Sharon Pruitt)

I’ve come to realize that I blog for two reasons.

I blog because I like to rub the giant pink eraser of humour over the dark marks in my life. Really, why not?

And, I blog because I’m addicted to sharing information.

So here’s some truly random bits of information that I’ve been dying to share –  in no particular order.

1) Clean A Leather Sofa with Moisturizing Soap

Here’s a super easy one. I googled how to clean leather and found this tip on cleaning leather with moisturizing soap. I used a bar of unscented Dove on my light leather couch and was really happy with the results. The trick is to use very little water. Wring, wring, wring! My leather couch is so soft now. Plus, it’s cheap and easy to do touch ups. I wasn’t as happy with the results on my dark brown couch, but I might switch to liquid moisturizing soap like they use in the video. And when I do, I will share the results!

2) Save Time Clothes Shopping

I wish I was the type of minimalist that always looks great in a white shirt and jeans. But, I’m not. In fact, the closer I get to forty, the more fond I’ve become of black stretch. I gravitate to the same five flattering pieces in my closet and subconsciously shop for replacements because I’m afraid that the magic slimming shirt or pants will fall apart on me, or worse – shrink. No more. I just took my favourite top to my seamstress to copy and I’m thrilled with the results. At $15 for fabric and $40 for labour, minus gas and shopping time. The cost is a wash.

3) Rent Art

I just rented art for staging my home. How come I didn’t know about this before? One local gallery rents art for $10 – $40/month. The home staging company I went to rents large pieces for $49 – $89/month. Not cheap, but nowhere near as expensive as some of the art mistakes I’ve made. And, it’s fun – especially for the commitment-phobic.

4) Switch to White Towels

I switched to all white towels over a year ago. They always match. They’re easy to keep clean (with bleach, if necessary). And, white goes with everything – twenty million hotels can’t be wrong. Plus, I won huge points with the designer that my realtor brought for a pre-listing walk through. It turns out there are never enough white towels to stage a home.

5) Wear Crystal Deoderant

I made the decision to buy fewer, better quality clothes a while ago but when I saw that my good quality white T-shirts were getting yellow armpit stains, I threw a wobbly. I found out that the stains are caused by a reaction between sweat and the aluminum salts in some deodorants so I very reluctantly switched to a crystal deodorant. I asked the clerk in Whole Foods which one worked well because I sweat a lot. She grabbed me this and said that it is the only one that really works. She was right. So far, no smell, but it’s a little too early to tell how my white shirts are faring. Fingers crossed! I will let you know how it goes.

What amazing things have you discovered recently?

16 thoughts on “Save Money, Save Time, Stay Sane

  1. Your brilliant sense of humour is a true gift and to use it to soften the dark marks…indeed, why not?!!!

    I hope to hear more about the “five flattering pieces” in your wardrobe…when it comes to wardrobe, I need all the help I can get! :o)

    I’ve been using crystal deodorant for several years now and find it much much better than all the others! :o)

    Good luck with the sale of your home and your move…pls keep us posted! :o)

    • There just doesn’t seem to be any good reason not to laugh at the dark stuff.
      I will post more about the clothes that work for me as soon as we sell the house. And I promise to post about the house sale and the move. It’s all consuming!

  2. I would love to be a jeans and white tee shirt person too. Oh well. Thanks for the great tips! Esp about the salt deoderant, never heard of it but I might check into it myself.

  3. Hmm… well I’m totally confused on the deodorant front because the crystal rock deodorants (which I’ve used for years) are made from aluminum salt. But anyhow, the best way to get out the yellow armpit stains is with a soap called Zote. It might be hard to find up north because it’s made in Mexico – making it ever present in my neighborhood. Anyhow it’s basically a giant pink bar of soap designed specifically for laundry. If you can’t find it, you might try just regular soap – nothing with moisturizers or anything in it, just plain soap.

    BTW – you’ve totally inspired me. I kept thinking about what it would be like if I had to move and could only take minimal stuff with me. I actually have no desire to move, but love the idea of being able to “start over” in terms of stuff.

    Anyhow, that, coupled with the realization that there is a connection between the clutter in my desk drawers and the clutter that collects on top of the desk have totally inspired me. So I’ve cleaned out two of the desk drawers and now there’s actually space to put stuff in them… what a concept!

    I fear this is only the tip of the iceberg, but I think it will be much easier to keep the desk clean if I can actually put the stuff that I actually use in the drawers where I can find it, instead of everything having to live on the surface!

    • Thanks for the Zote tip. I will now be stalking anyone I know who’s going to Mexico. Do you get yellow stains when you use the crystal deodorant?
      I’m so glad I inspired you. An empty drawer is a beautiful thing! You’ll get addicted to it, can’t say I didn’t warn you.

      • Actually, come to think of it, I don’t think I get the yellow stains anymore… but I discovered the crystal deodorant about the same time as I discovered Zote… and BTW you should be able to find it anyplace where there are Mexican immigrants.

      • p.s. One more drawer done today. Whoopie!! Next is the dreaded drawer full of computer software CD’s. I don’t even want to think about it!

      • Ugh! I cleared out some of those in the early days. It’s daunting. I have no advice for you, except that Squirrel kept software CD’s from 1995, so you’re probably safe to give those away, if you still have any.

  4. You know what Christine? Your “100 things 100 days” blog was compelling in it’s own right, but now, you have a “following”! And… you’ve “hooked us” on YOU!! So keep on blogging…. because you “ARE” a writer, and this is a great place to express yourself…. one way or another. Plus – think of all the people you’d leave “dangling”… waiting for the next saga….. 🙂

Leave a Reply

