The Best Baked Plans…

This is why I shouldn’t have any bright ideas in the kitchen:

I was racing around preparing for a showing on Tuesday morning when I realized I’d forgotten breakfast. Seeing Squirrel left one store bought chocolate chip cookie in the cupboard – the light bulb went on over my head. Why not warm it up, killing two birds with one stone – snack for me, warm fuzzy scent for the potential buyer?

But this is me we’re talking about. No sooner had I got the cookie in the oven than I heard someone fire up a serious sounding power washer outside.

No!!! The neighbours are not getting their roof power washed (spraying gutter gunk all over my deck and backyard) today – of all days! I hurtled out the door and launched into interrogation mode:

Me: Are you just doing the driveway?

Power Washer Guy: Yep…oh, and the roof…and the gutters…

Me: Oh, well, we’re trying to sell the house (pointing to very obvious sign) and I have someone coming to see it at 1:15. I know it’s hard, but can you PLEASE try not to spray stuff all over my yard?

Power Washer Guy: No problem. I’ll have it cleaned up by 1pm.

Me: What’s that smell?

!@#$ Β %^&* !@#$ Β %^&* !!!

I darted inside to find half my breakfast smoking blackly at me from the bottom of the oven.

Really?

I switched the fan to high and opened all the doors as Power Washer Guy revved his engine sending a mist of debris swirling past my recently washed kitchen windows.

I ate the unburnt half of the cookie anyway, standing over the kitchen sink, feeling sorry for myself.

Just then my realtor called. She told me not to worry about things I can’t control. “If they can’t look past the minor things,” she said, “they’re probably not serious anyway.”

Wise words.

Because on Wednesday the burnt cookie showing had turned into an offer!!! and by Thursday night (after a few rounds of negotiation), we accepted it.

Yippee!!!

I woke up the next morning and looked out the window to see that Power Washer Guy actually did an excellent job of cleaning up after himself, but that a bear had walked right through our back fence knocking out five planks.

Sometimes the things we can’t control end well, sometimes not. I know one thing for sure, that fence repair can wait until I’ve celebrated.

How should I celebrate this untethering from the cleaning cloth? Any suggestions?

23 thoughts on “The Best Baked Plans…

  1. Wonderful! Best news I’ve had for a long time! SO so happy for you all! I am so proud of all the hard work you’ve done to make this happen…I’m sure at times it seemed almost overwhelming both physically and emotionally but you did it! We have the champagne on ice! :o)

    Here’s to new beginnings! :o)

  2. WOOOOHOOOOOOOOOOO! CONGRATS!!

    I feel like you should celebrate by doing something messy. Or just let yourself not clean for a week. Or just start packing. If it were me, I’d already have things for sale on Craig’s List and most of our house in boxes lol! I’m just too excited for you!

    • Excellent suggestions Megyn! You’ll be happy to know that I listed Squirrel’s car on craigslist yesterday. He’s been dragging his little rodent feet on that one. Since reading your recent post, I’m reconsidering selling mine as well. I’m still working on a name for your new ride. πŸ™‚

    • Thanks Grace! What a great suggestion that was – too bad I fumbled the execution. After burning the cookie I googled “make your home smell like baking” and found a tip to simmer a few drops of vanilla in a pot of water on the stove. It worked great, and more importantly, it was goof proof!!!!

  3. Well, as they say, when God burns a cookie, somewhere he opens a window… or something like that! I’m so happy for you.

  4. Hooray! So happy for you. I definitely vote with Megyn – something messy or no cleaning (or both) are the way to go.

  5. Too funny Christine!!!! And I am soooooooo happy for you with your sale! I will miss seeing you around the school, but you’ll keep blogging, yes?? Best of luck with the move and enjoy your home for the remaining weeks you are there! πŸ™‚ N.

    • I’ll miss seeing you too! I sure hope this turns into a sale, but as of yet it’s an accepted offer. The subjects have to come off and they still have to sell their home, so fingers crossed! As you know, it’s exciting times.
      I’ll keep blogging about it though. Can’t seem to stop myself from sharing. πŸ™‚

  6. Congratulations. If I had been looking at your house to buy, I would have been thrilled to know the neighbors keep up their property as well. Maybe it was a combo of the burnt cookie AND the power washing.

    • Thanks Lois. We just got through the move and it was huge. I’m only getting to answering comments now. Our house isn’t a “done deal” yet as they have to sell their home, but I’m feeling very positive about it.
      I’ve enjoyed checking into your blog. While I haven’t had the energy to write, I’ve managed to read a bit and I always enjoy your posts.

    • Congratulations to you too! I’m so happy for you. I tried to comment on your post with the news but I’m so emotional about babies that I couldn’t find the words. We just got through the move so I’m going to pop over and see what you’ve been up to. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

