Less (Botox) Is More

If you’re angry and you know it, start a blog.

I don’t think it’s a secret that I started this blog, at least in part, because I was mad at Squirrel. Finding stash after stash, day after day, month after month, made me want to chew my leg off. You have no idea how much relief sharing that frustration has given me.

Yesterday, I had the misfortune of reading a blog post that purported to give advice to women on how to lead their lives. As I got deeper and deeper into it, once again, I felt tempted to put tooth to leg.

While I feel obligated not to share the advice publicly, suffice it to say that both getting botox and homeschooling are on the author’s must do checklist for female success – along with other useful tips like “start looking for a husband early” and “do a startup with a guy.”

I chewed on that advice all afternoon and all the way to school pick-up where I unloaded on my friend Abbie.

Abbie has a low tolerance for bullshit:

“I don’t know when you’d find the time to get Botox if you’re homeschooling,” she commented.

Yeah, she’s pretty cool.

I think it comes down to this: how do you define success? And, perhaps more subjectively, how do you define beauty?

If you ask me, one expression doesn’t fit all.

Who are your favourite “botox free” female success stories? Here are just a few of mine.

Juliette Binoche

Heidi Klum

Tina Fey

Julianne Moore

16 thoughts on “Less (Botox) Is More

  1. Heidi Klum hasn’t had anything done?! AWESOME!! I often find that I prefer watching British shows as the actors and actresses on them look like real people. When I watch shows like “Real Housewives of Orange County”, I see where my country is going so, so terribly wrong. Thank you for this good chuckle.

    And I agree with Abbie…where would she find time? Oh right, she has enough money for botox, which probably means her idea of homeschooling is to just hire a tutor. You know, so she finds the time for her much required botox. Or maybe that’s what she’s teaching the child…how to inject botox into mommy dearest. Oh my goodness…people these days!

  2. Jamie Lee Curtis. I love, love, LOVE how she let herself go gray, and has even done untouched photo shoots in her underwear with no makeup. And I think she looks FABULOUS! Go reality warriors!!!!

  3. LOL I’ve had to get botox twice now to fix weak muscles in my eyes. yes, that means the botox goes in the eye muscle, not in the wrinkles! I can see properly now! After that, it is just so funny to me to hear people talking about botox and their wrinkles.

    And the funniest thing is, if hollywood weren’t so uptight about being thin, the girls would fill out their wrinkles a bit and not need botox for wrinkles. Funny, huh?

  4. I have a feeling I know which blogger you’re referring to. And I concur with your sentiments exactly. I do not like when people who clearly do not have their shit together in life portraying the image like they do and giving advice to others about how we can all have her awesome (but clearly shitty to anyone to is smarter than a stick) life. I threw up in my mouth a little bit when one of my favourite bloggers linked to her this week. I think I’ll look for a different “blueprint” for my life, thank you very much!

    Okay, that was my cattiness for the day. Have a great weekend!

    • I’m with you on the alternate blueprint. I just couldn’t link to the blog and perpetuate the insanity. In fact, I think not listening to bad advice will be on my blueprint from now on.
      When I started the post, I had pics of celebs with botox, but that just seemed redundant. Everyone knows how bad it looks. Why not celebrate the people who go without!

  5. I would never consider botox for looks, I love Jamie Lee Curtis, she was the inspiration for me cutting off my long hair and letting the grey show proudly in my hair. As for homeschooling, it may work for some and not others. After a few years of the public school system disappointing me with how they were educating my children I homeschooled them and am happy I did. It’s hard work and not something you jump into lightly.

    • Jamie Lee Curtis rocks! She is the au natural pioneer.
      I have nothing against homeschooling. I considered it seriously for my oldest son. We too learned that the public system isn’t for us and fortunately found an affordable ($5,000/year with sliding scale based on income) Waldorf school.
      I can only imagine the magnitude of the task of homeschooling. Good for you for knowing what’s best for your family and making it happen. I think many people feel intimidated by taking the road less travelled.

  6. So glad you’re back to blogging.

    I think you can take the Botox thing a step further in our anti-aging society. I say this as the only grey (and I mean more grey than dark) mum on the school playground. When did we become so intent on looking like we’re 18? I like to think I’m a little wiser at 45 than I was at 18, so why would I want to look that way?

    The ironic thing is that men stop me on the street all the time to say I look great and they wish their wife would let their hair go “au naturel”. My hypothesis is that they think I look great for 60!

    • My hypothesis is that they see your confidence and that’s pretty attractive. I’ll quote Cate Blanchett here:

      “Look at a man or a woman in their 50s and all I see when they have brushed their years away with surgery is self-obsession and fear. That’s not particularly attractive.”
      – Cate Blanchett

      I wouldn’t trade my 18 year old self for my 40 (in 22 days!) self ever! I know so many women who would do anything to protect their looks and little or nothing to protect their happiness. The most beautiful women I know guard their happiness fiercely.

  7. I enjoyed this post thoroughly, and had to chuckle at the comment about not having time to get Botox if you’re homeschooling.

    My face will just have to do whatever it’s going to do because I HATE needles, and couldn’t imagine willingly letting somebody inject something into my face!!!

Leave a Reply

